Cultural spotlight (your visit today is not in vain!)

“George W Bush. Great President, or Greatest President?”

  — Stephen Colbert to his guests (from time to time)

In my opinion Colbert is not being completely fair here. There may very well be a guest who would like to have the choice to answer “Greater President” because after all, the world is not black and white. There are shades of grey in between.

I bring this up to better introduce today’s topic (I think you’ll agree it leads in perfectly!), which is How To Make an Origami Hydralisk.

Few of my readers will have discovered axcho’s artful instructions, seeing as a google on the word ‘hydralisk’  brings up the site you were really looking for within the first five hits. Not looking beyond you would indeed be missing out.

While I’ve not yet had a chance to replicate myself thusly (a voice keeps telling me to “Spawn more Overlords!”), the Flash instructional is quite lucid, and based on the pictures I’m seeing the finished product looks smart.

origami hydralisk

Of course I am more handsome in real life. Also, the model could be improved by having an impaled origami marine dangling gruesomely from one of my claws, but you can’t have everything.

Thank you, axcho! Looking forward to seeing origami instructions for my big brother, Ultra.

8 responses to “Cultural spotlight (your visit today is not in vain!)

  1. Thanks much for the kind writeup. 🙂

    I haven’t tried designing an Ultralisk yet, but there was one guy on deviantART who made something with a similar body structure. If he ever gets back to me about it, maybe I can turn it into an Ultralisk. I’ll let you know if that happens. 🙂

  2. Very good, axcho! Let us continue to spread Starcraft culture to frontiers where it is least expected.

  3. Oh, you make me laugh. And I don’t even know what you’re talking about.

  4. Do I geek you out, Christie? Hey, that could be a song title, maybe something like this one.

  5. axcho sum thing kips tellin u to spawn more overlords eh?

  6. Hey, I just finished a series of tutorial videos on how to fold this my origami hydralisk! 😀

    I think you’ll like it. A lot of people have been asking me for this. If you like it, would you be willing to post about it on your blog here? I want to make sure this reaches as many people as possible! 🙂

    I’ve also designed an origami zergling, which I’ll be making instructions for soon. Keep an eye out for them. 😉

  7. Heh, in case it wasn’t obvious, click my name for the link to my YouTube channel so you can see the videos! :p

    Also, direct links here:
    Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fxd-XWTRKow
    Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ww-endCCAKs
    Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3MW28idVIMQ

Leave a Reply

