Yucky personal nostalgic mush

Roland Dodds of But I am a Liberal! has tagged me with the following task:

1. Go to www.popculturemadness.com
2. Pick the year you turned 18 (look to the side bar and there are tabs for Billboard number 1 hits for each decade)
3. Get yourself nostalgic over the songs of the year
4. Write something about how the song affected you
5. Pass it on to 5 more friends

When I was 18 “A Whole New World” (Peabo Bryson & Regina Belle) from the movie Aladdin was a Billboard hit. I did happen to like this movie as well as the music from it. It was back when I thought it was pretty cool to know the lyrics to Disney songs. My high school friends agreed; we would sing “The Gaston Song” from Beauty and the Beast at each other, replacing Gaston’s name for each others’ names. (Oh no, that is not how nerdy we were. That was nothing. That was only the very edge of the unplumbable depths of our nerdiness)

I still think Beauty and the Beast was the crowning achievement of Disney. A lot of folks thought likewise, including the Academy Awards people. Aladdin was not bad either. I was a sucker for romance as portrayed in Disney films such as those. But romance doesn’t work that way, when it works at all, does it?

Shortly afterwards I’d go on to prefer anime over Western-style animation definitively, and to pass through a stage where 80’s style synthpop (Pet Shop Boys, Erasure, Depeche Mode, etc) was my musical preference, which, absurd as it may sound today, wasn’t all that uncool back then. Go west where the skies are blue!

All right, this is as nostalgic as I’m willing to get.

4 responses to “Yucky personal nostalgic mush

  1. Haha, you got tagged by a meme.

    Not having ever been much into music (Smashing Pumpkins excluded) I’m not sure that I’d do very well at this one.

    But, I do remember the Pet Shop Boys. That was nostalgic. But, it also reminded me why I don’t often drag up nostalgic memories. Most of them just aren’t worth remembering.

    Though there are some, like walking home from DT at 4am after banning all of Wen’s decks from the table.

  2. What’s not worth remembering about this? =D

    Well I won’t tag you then. I was actually thinking about it.

    Here’s another nostalgic memory:
    Me calling you from a phone on campus telling you to drop whatever you’re studying and get down to the club because we’re about to throw down a group game and I know your Denizens could use the exercise. Of course I played my Denizen deck too, so that whenever anybody was able to take out one of your denizens, I’d animate it, and whenever anybody was able to take out one of my denizens, you’d animate it, to the prolonged dismay of everyone else at the table.

  3. Oh man, those were the days.

    (P.S. My Denizen deck was always better)

  4. Ah, Aladdin really was great. Beauty and the Beast was not bad by no means. Definitely better than a lot of stuff that came later.

Leave a Reply

